top of page

Concept of "Beyond your Labor"

Concept in English follows after Japanese.

【個展まであと16日!】

個展会場は、Gallery Art Pointという老舗なのですが、私が今回使わせていただくのは、"bis"という小スペース。6畳くらいの広さのスペースの壁に作品を展示します。そんなに広くはないのでたくさんは飾りません。中型作品を4点と小作品4点、立体作品を2、3点の予定です。私としては初めての銀座での展示で、夢の銀座デビューです。

入口付近に掲げるボードに書く内容を考えました。あとまだ数日あるのでここからさらに推敲を重ね、本番ではちょっと変えるかもしれませんが。(読みたい本もあと2冊あるし・・)

「本日は、Emiko Ishida solo exhibition “Beyond your Labor”にお越しくださいまして、誠にありがとうございます.

今回はモチーフとして主に紅葉を用いました。春に秋のモチーフを用いたことで「おや?」と思って頂けたらラッキーです。紅葉は単なる紅葉ではなく、資本主義社会に生きざるを得ない私達一人一人を意味しています。

私は資本主義を否定する気はさらさらありません。資本主義のお陰で、一人当たりの所得は産業革命前より250倍にもなり、飢えに苦しむ人の数も減りましたから。私は資本主義社会を生き抜いている私達ひとりひとりの頑張りにただただ誇りを感じているのです。

仕事=人生と言っても過言ではないくらい、仕事は私たちの人生にとって重要な位置を占めています。正直、食べていくため、お金を得るために、本当に望む自分の姿は見て見ぬ振りをしている人は少なくないのではないでしょうか。

資本主義国家に生まれ、教育を受け、当たり前のように就職し働いてきました。私は、画家への夢は据え置きにし、経済的に立派に自立できそうな会計士になりました。楽しい日ももちろんありました。でも、私にとって仕事は基本的に苦しみでした。私の真の楽しみは余暇にありました。この苦しみは一体どこから来るんだろう?感情と疑問の根源的理由を長年探し求めてきましたが、親も先生も誰も教えてくれませんでした。周囲の人たち全員が資本主義という大前提のもとに(マインドコントロールされて)生きていたからだと思います。

カール・マルクスは、資本主義を最も論理的に分析した哲学者であり経済学者です。マルクスの著書を読んだことで、私が国が仕掛けたマインドコントロールから解けたのは極最近の出来事です。

私は以下の二点をマルクスから学び、人生最大の疑問にターニングポイントを迎えることになりました。 1.動物である人類にとって、生命維持活動の方法として経済活動そのものが合っていないということ。 2.利益創出のカラクリを知ったこと。資本家は支払う賃金以上に労働者を働かせ、無償で取得した超過分が利潤の源泉であるということ。(マルクスは「搾取」とか「疎外された労働」と表現しています。)

私の心の痛みは、個人的問題に起因するだけでなく、人類が抱える問題でもあったのです。搾取されていた痛みであったということです。

人々から搾取された労働は集結され資本となり、資本は増長することで資本主義は発展しました。経済的豊かさは底上げされ、世界から貧困は随分と減りました。しかし、鬱病患者は年々増加する一方で、経済的豊かさと精神的豊かさは比例しないことが明らかになっています。

豊穣の地の門を開いたのが資本主義であるのは確かです。が、資本主義だけでは豊穣の地を維持することはできないでしょう。精神的豊かさを求め、生活の質を上げる別の道を見つけなければならない段階に来ているのです.

資本主義を超えた社会とはどんな社会なのでしょう。あなたはどんな社会を目指したいですか?

Beyond your Labor、労働の先に、自分の本当の姿があるはずです。

2018年5月

石田絵美子」

次回は作品の一部をちょっとご紹介しようかな、と思います。


Concept in English:

Dear everyone

Thank you very much for coming to Emiko Ishida solo exhibition "Beyond your Labor".

I mainly used the autumn leaves as a motif for this exhibition. I will be lucky if you feel something odd, seeing the autumn motif in spring. These leaves are not just leaves and these are each people who has no choice but to live in a capitalist society.

I do not want denying capitalism. Thanks to capitalism, per capita income has been 250 times higher than before the Industrial Revolution and the number of people suffering from starvation has also decreased. I’m just proud of our efforts of every one of us who has survived in the capitalist society.

The work is an important thing in our life, even we can say Job = Life. Honestly, there might not be a few people who deceive themselves by watching their real desire in order to live and earn the money.

Born in a capitalist country, received the education, and worked without any question. I set aside my dreams of becoming an artist and became an accountant who can be economically independent. Of course, there were the day that I could enjoy the work but it was basically harsh for me. I had the real enjoyment in my free time. Where does this suffering come from? I had been looking for a root of this feelings and doubts for many years, but neither parent nor teacher taught me. I think that all the people around me lived under the premise of capitalism (under mind control).

Karl Marx is a philosophy / economist who have analyzed capitalism most logically. Recently, I could be released from the mind control set by the country by reading his books.

I learned two following points from Marx and it is likely to be a turning point to my biggest question in my life.

1. For human beings who are animals, the economic activities themselves are not in agreement as the activities to support the lives.

2. Knowing the way of profit generation. Capitalists let the workers work to create the value beyond the paying wages and acquire the excess for free which is the source of profit. (Marx expresses it as "exploitation" or "alienated labor".)

My pain was not only due to a personal matter but also due to a human beings' matter. It was a pain from the exploitation.

The labor exploited has been gathered and became capital, and capitalism was developed by the growth of capital. Economic wealth has been raised so that poverty has drastically decreased from the world. However, while depression patients increase year by year, it is clear that financial wealth and mental richness do not scale.

It is certain that capitalism opened the gate of fertile land, but capitalism alone would not be able to maintain this fertile land. We are in the stage of seeking mental richness and finding another way to improve the quality of life.

What society is beyond capitalism? What kind of society do you aim for?

“Beyond your Labor”, you will find your real figure.

May 2018

Emiko Ishida

Recent Posts
bottom of page